Author Topic: Accreditation and Freelance  (Read 6351 times)

Offline Stacey Newman

• Professional
  • Milton, ON
    • Stacey Newman Photographer & Writer
    • Email
Accreditation and Freelance
« on: March 05, 2012, 04:50 PM »
I've worked as a professional photographer for about seven years, primarily commercial and stock. Though, with a background as a writer and journalist, my interests have always included photojournalism. I have shot as a freelance photojournalist for just a few years, so my experience is limited. One problem I'm running into is applying for accreditation for events that require letters of assignment. In general I work with a number of agencies/publications that publish or represent my work. So, I don't typically have one "assignment" for events where accreditation is required.

I usually explain this and get accreditation, but sometimes without an assignment from an outlet I'm not granted access. Just wondering what other freelancers do regarding coverage for accredited events.

thank you

Stacey Newman
Commercial & Editorial Photographer
www.staceynewmanphotography.com
Cell: (289) 971-1033
Twitter: @staceylnewman
Facebook: www.facebook.com/StaceyNewmanPhotography

Offline Kenneth Armstrong

• Professional
  • Sault Ste Marie, ON
    • www.kennetharmstrong.ca
    • Email
Re: Accreditation and Freelance
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2012, 06:51 PM »
Hello Stacey,

There is a really good thread already on the student board that covers this subject. It's about halfway down the page.

http://npac.ca/forums/index.php?board=22.0

--------------------

ken@kennetharmstrong.ca
www.kennetharmstrong.ca
Photographer
Sault Ste Marie

Offline Stacey Newman

• Professional
  • Milton, ON
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2012, 07:03 PM »