Author Topic: Advice on image useage terms.  (Read 2472 times)

Tom Hicken

« on: August 08, 2012, 03:02 PM »
Hi all - long time listener, first time caller.

I'm a Loyalist student who got a contract job for the summer as a Jr photo editor with a travel company.  My boss is on vacation for the next little bit and I could really use some advice. 

Basically I received a photo request to be used in a magazine article which is pretty normal, but the image use terms (in red) raised a red flag.  I don't know if this is standard, but it seemed a bit broad:

Dear Tom,

I am an Online Photo Assistant for ************* Publishing . We are currently working on an online slideshow entitled "World's Most Bikeable Wine Regions" for *******.com. Biking in Piemonte is one of the featured trips.

Would you be able to send over some images for this feature? All images should be 800 x 600 pixels, and please provide the credit information. You can email them back to me as attachments or provide me with a link to images. Please let me know if this is possible or refer me to someone who has access to images.

Below is our standard rights agreement for the image use.

In addition to possible publication on ********* website, ************ Publishing (and its affiliates and licensees) may reproduce, distribute, display and publish the photographs you provide in and via webpages, websites and other publications, products and services that contain, exhibit, or arebranded with the name or logo of the magazine or website, and use the photographs for the promotion of the foregoing

By providing the photographs to *********** you thereby confirm that you grant *********** Publishing the rights to use the photographs as described above, you have those rights to grant, you represent that such use will not violate the rights of any third party, and you agree to take full responsibility for the same.