Author Topic: How to choose which agency to represent your work  (Read 3546 times)

Albert Law

How to choose which agency to represent your work
« on: February 01, 2013, 08:56 PM »
I'm relatively new to the "official" news/documentary side of things. Any tips on how to choose which agency to represent your work? Looking at Getty/Corbis/Zuma at the moment, if anyone has suggestions on who else to look into that would be great.

I do mainly lifestyle/documentary work, and currently looking to do assignments overseas with the military. Personal site: www.albertlaw.ca

Offline Mark Blinch

• Inactive Member
    • Email
Re: How to choose which agency to represent your work
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2013, 10:34 AM »
For editorial work, I think most of the time, you dont choose them, they choose you ;-)

But they have to know who you are right?

So you gottta start pounding pavement, making phone calls, and sending emails to try and set up a meeting to show them what you can do for them.

« Last Edit: February 02, 2013, 10:38 AM by Mark Blinch »

Albert Law

« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2013, 01:51 PM »
Zuma has offered to take me on, haven't heard back from Corbis yet.

Anyone have experience with Zuma?

Offline Warren Toda

• Administrator
  • Toronto
    • www.warrentoda.com
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2013, 02:23 AM »
Which agency would you like to represent you?

Some agencies will "represent" anyone as long as they own a camera and have some idea how to use it. Since some (many?) photographers work on spec, it costs the agency nothing to represent anyone and everyone.

This is the definition of hamsterization.

I've been to events where there are half a dozen photographers, or more, all claiming to be working for Zuma, or Getty, or Wire Image, or Corbis, or Wenn, etc. (i.e. 6 or 7 photographers from Zuma, 6 or 7 photographers from Corbis, 6 or 7 from Getty, etc).