Author Topic: My first attempt at working abroad  (Read 2977 times)

Offline Amanda Siebert

• Inactive Member
  • Calgary, AB.
      • www.amandasiebert.com
      • Email
My first attempt at working abroad
« on: April 10, 2012, 03:31 PM »
Hello,

I would love some critique on a body of work that I completed recently during a one-month stay in Kathmandu, Nepal. I was able to complete this project while working as an intern at Kathmandu's largest English-language publication, The Rising Nepal.

A bit about myself: I graduated from Langara College's Professional Photo-Imaging Program last May and have since been working as a seasonal photographer in Haida Gwaii, BC. When I'm not working up north, I'm doing my best to develop compelling projects.

Thanks very much for taking a look; I'd love to hear what everyone has to say.

http://www.amandasiebert.com/index.html

« Last Edit: April 10, 2012, 03:37 PM by Amanda Siebert »

Amanda Siebert
Currently located in Calgary, Alta.
+www.amandasiebert.com
+info@amandasiebert.com
+587.896.5514

Offline Warren Toda

• Administrator
  • Toronto
      • www.warrentoda.com
      • Email
Re: My first attempt at working abroad
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2012, 09:55 PM »
Feel free to ignore any or all of the following:

First, let's talk about your web site:

• the three black dots at the bottom of customheader1.jpg are a bit distracting. I thought they were things that didn't load properly on the page. There's some strange coding on the web pages: eg. customheader1.jpg is loaded 2-1/2 times: once as an image, once as a background image and the half-time as "custom-header1.jpg".

• probably don't need to use the word "independent".

• a lot of white space at the top due to the strange CSS. While you shouldn't pack things too tight and overcrowd a page, remember that pixels don't grow on trees.  :D

(Edit - removed a couple of screen grabs)