Author Topic: Critique Request  (Read 3500 times)

Offline Stacey Newman

• Professional
  • Milton, ON
    • Twitter
    • Instagram
      • Stacey Newman Photographer & Writer
      • Email
Critique Request
« on: March 04, 2012, 02:17 PM »
Hello,

I've been working full-time professionally for about seven years. I shoot commercial, stock, corporate, editorial and journalistic. I'd appreciate a broad critique. Things I'm overlooking, processing or composition bad habits that I might not see myself. Fire away. I'm also a writer (so, thick-skinned). I enjoy journalistic work best and looking to push myself to the next level. Thank you in advance, Stacey

Portfolio sample images on my website.

http://www.staceynewmanphotography.com

« Last Edit: March 05, 2012, 12:34 AM by Stacey Newman »

Stacey Newman
Commercial & Editorial Photographer
www.staceynewmanphotography.com
Cell: (289) 971-1033
Twitter: @staceylnewman
Facebook: www.facebook.com/StaceyNewmanPhotography

Offline Warren Toda

• Administrator
  • Toronto
      • www.warrentoda.com
      • Email
Re: Critique Request
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2012, 04:10 AM »
Personally, I'm not a fan of using Flash, but that's just me. The Flash your site uses loads every picture two or three times for some reason.

• On several of the galleries, there's an issue where the large picture slideshow doesn't cover the underlying title.

For example, on the "Stock images" page, while viewing the larger pictures, the letter "s" sticks out the side. On the "families, babies, weddings" page, the letters "ngs" stick out the side. Also happens on the "Travel images" page with an "s" sticking out.

• It's not obvious (at least to me) that the home page has a slideshow with a number of large pictures, two(?) of which are repeated. Almost all of these pictures are soft and need to be sharpened.