Author Topic: ok, here goes...  (Read 3759 times)

Offline Lisa Morris

• Inactive Member
  • Kitchener, Ontario
      • photographerlisa.com
      • Email
ok, here goes...
« on: October 10, 2011, 08:20 PM »
Here it is, the start of my editorial portfolio.

A few things to know:
I built this site using 500px.com templates; I like the simplicity in what they have to offer.
I've been shooting for about five years and I'm a soon-to-be graduate from the photography program at Conestoga College here in Kitchener (soon-to-be meaning I need to complete a 30-hour internship with another photographer... which hasn't happened yet - *have camera, will travel* ;-)
There was very basic editorial teaching in this program; the only exposure to photojournalism was a slideshow of images from one teacher's former PJ days.
I have been reading and studying and immersing myself in everything photojournalism, with the hopes of really making this my career. As my bio says, I'm planning on heading to Loyalist next fall.
In the mean time, I run out to as many events and happenings as I can to build my portfolio (ie, the G20 and the 10th anniversary of 9/11 in NYC).

I'm determined to improve and I'd appreciate other photographers to really critique my work.

Please & thanks!

http://www.photographerlisa.com

-----------
-Lisa
@photojlisa
photographerlisa.com

Offline Kenneth Armstrong

• Professional
  • Sault Ste Marie, ON
      • www.kennetharmstrong.ca
      • Email
Re: ok, here goes...
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2011, 06:40 PM »
I think for your bio you can skip that you are a student. Sound like you're picking up work, I would keep concentrating on that.

For my personal taste there is way too much digital B&W. I love black and white photography but it especially bothered me in the Uniforms section where there was a sequence with a little girl, in one shot she's in B&W and the next in colour. Again, that's my personal preference.