NPAC Forum > General Discussion

Accreditation and Freelance

(1/5) > >>

Stacey Newman:
I've worked as a professional photographer for about seven years, primarily commercial and stock. Though, with a background as a writer and journalist, my interests have always included photojournalism. I have shot as a freelance photojournalist for just a few years, so my experience is limited. One problem I'm running into is applying for accreditation for events that require letters of assignment. In general I work with a number of agencies/publications that publish or represent my work. So, I don't typically have one "assignment" for events where accreditation is required.

I usually explain this and get accreditation, but sometimes without an assignment from an outlet I'm not granted access. Just wondering what other freelancers do regarding coverage for accredited events.

thank you

Kenneth Armstrong:
Hello Stacey,

There is a really good thread already on the student board that covers this subject. It's about halfway down the page.

http://npac.ca/forums/index.php?board=22.0

Stacey Newman:
Thanks Kenneth, appreciated. I've just gone through the thread. I understand the impetus for the thread in the student section, however it doesn't really cover professionals who choose to work freelance at major events. I think there's a middle ground comprised of those of us who work freelance professionally for various reasons (for me it pertains to RF licensing contracts I have with stock agencies). the advice provided in the student thread about building local stories within a portfolio is great advice for students/amateurs. In any case, for the benefit of any other freelancers in similar situations, I usually resolve this issue by speaking to the accreditation reps and explaining my coverage. But as I said in my OP, it doesn't always gain me access anymore...I suspect because 'amateurs' or 'fans' are taking advantage of the accreditation process.

Kenneth Armstrong: