Author Topic: Updated Website, looking for critique  (Read 2170 times)

Hassan Arshad

« on: May 01, 2010, 09:05 AM »
Hello everyone,

My name is Hassan Arshad and I am a freelance photographer and designer currently in Fort McMurray, Alberta.  I do freelance work for Fort McMurray Today and I am going back to graduate school at UBC for my masters of Journalism this fall.   

I have recently updated my website and I would really appreciate any critiques on it.   The more input I get the better I can make my website, so please don't hold back any constructive criticism.

www.HassanArshad.com

Thanks in advance!

Offline Warren Toda

• Administrator
  • Toronto
      • www.warrentoda.com
      • Email
Re: Updated Website, looking for critique
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2010, 04:02 AM »
My ~700¢ worth:

Web site design first:

• Turn off the drag-to-share plugin. It pops up over every graphic (except thumbs) and is very annoying.

• personally, I wouldn't use any image from Wikipedia. Some are of dubious origin, and others lose their "Fair Use" protection immediately upon copying to another site, (assuming they even fall under the USA's "Fair Use" clause, which is not quite the same as "Fair Dealing" in Canada).

• On inside picture pages, there's no point in having all full-size images first, then thumbs at the bottom which only repeat the full-size images thru fancybox.  Although, a few pages have no full-size images, just thumbs+fancybox. Scripting error somewhere?

• too many navigation options: top bar, middle bar, middle thumbs bar, and piles of links below the fold, including unreadable black text on a dark grey background.

• You've got at least four different types of link hover styles. Some hovers become unreadable white text on ~white background.

• Text areas on pages should be narrower. Text running the full width of the page is difficult to read. There's a reason why newspaper and magazine columns are narrow.